# Security

# Data

We take security very seriously due to the nature of what we do and encrypt all your sensitive information using industry-tested standards.

We even inform you about which fields are encrypted in our own database when you create a server, a backup or a storage.

These encrypted fields are only decrypted when you login to your account or on-the-fly at runtime when SimpleBackups takes a backup for you.

Rest-assured

We do not log sensitive data anywhere or "forget" encrypting something that has to be encrypted. Like you, we are also tired of the bad practices we see every now and then at tech companies of all sizes resulting in leaked plain text data sometimes or logs that were forgotten.

Here is a list of other things we do to secure your data:

  1. Your file backups run on your own server, not ours, not a third-party
  2. Your database backups are dumped on your own server, not ours (unless you choose to), not a third-party.
  3. Backup archives are directly and securely sent to your remote storage form your own server, not ours, not a third-party.
  4. Your temporary backup files stay on your own server.
  5. Our backup scripts do not store any sensitive data on your server (no temporary backup scripts with credentials are ever created on your server and so on).

Have a question? Contact us for more information.

# Uninstalling

Similar to set up, uninstalling or removing your server from SimpleBackups is also very simple. All you need to do is go to your servers dashboard (opens new window) and delete your server from the list. Afterwards, SimpleBackups will do the following (it could take a minute to follow remove your server from SimpleBackups):

  1. It will attempt to log in into your server and remove all temporary files (aka, the operations directory) which has your unique key and the cloud syncing tool.
  2. It will remove it's SSH key from the authorized_keys to revoke its own access and no longer be able to connect
  3. It will finally remove your sevrer from the SimpleBackups dashboard

Note

If your server is disconnected, you will be informed if you need to take any manual action like manually removing the operations directory or removing SimpleBackups' key if it was ever added to your server.

Last Updated: 10/11/2021, 4:00:59 PM